A pause in the singing

Rain began last night and has continued more or less unabated since. During one of the brief periods of minimal rain I went outside to see if I could see the Tui whose singing had caught my attention. What looked like goldfinches scattered from the small shrubs between the beach house and the street, and too quickly for me to even think of a photo. 

The Tui was easily seen, as for once it wasn't hiding. In the poor light, showing their bright colouration was always going to be difficult. Later, I put some birdseed on the bird feeding table, and a family of greenfinches arrived.but any movement (even inside the house) and they went. The Kereru also returned this afternoon.

We drove back in the dark, as the forecast for tomorrow is for more of the same. Rather spend a wet public holiday in the apartment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.