ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

What a Difference a Day Makes

Or does it? That picture is of the view from my back door and has remained constant throughout this lockdown. Except, it hasn’t. Leaving aside the obvious natural changes, the fence has been painted, the flowerbeds tidied and, due to Mrs C’s penchant for looking after our feathered friends, new bird feeders have appeared. All as a result of being mainly confined to our house for 9 weeks and finding things to do. So although the overall view of the garden, Kendal Castle and (in the far distance) Shap Fell have remained pretty much the same, there have been many subtle and gradual changes.
In some ways you can compare that to our route out of lockdown. Small changes which, when added together, make a big difference.
But.....tomorrow I will be 60. Today I am 59. Two days ago, the furthest I had ever run in my life was 8 kilometres. Yesterday I achieved a goal of running 10K. Am I any different? Will I be any different? On a daily basis, maybe not, but I intend this to be a year long exercise and will be intrigued to see what life looks like on May 31st 2021

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.