Grubby's Blipfolio

By Grubby

Lucky little Speckled Wood

When I opened the living room curtains first thing this morning a fluttering high up in the conservatory caught my eye. Lo and behold a Speckled Wood butterfly was entangled in one of the resident spider's web with said spider just appearing from his lair. Working at the speed of light I unlocked the door into the conservatory and managed to save the poor butterfly from a certain death. I used the old glass and paper trick to finally capture it land et it loose into my back garden. It flew to the nearest shrub to recover from it's ordeal and stayed there long enough for me to find my camera and snap a few pics. The only issue I had was that it wouldn't lay its wings flat hence the body is in focus and the wings aren't

Having rescued the butterfly a bumble bee was next and again only inches from a gruesome death. I am happy for the spiders to catch the flies but bees etc will always be rescued where possible.

I was planning a trip to Thursley Common on Tuesday, which a couple of you will know, for a spot of butterfly hunting but devastated to see the live news of it shut down because of a fire. It breaks my heart to think of the wildlife and that chicks will be in nests at the moment.

https://www.getsurrey.co.uk/news/surrey-news/thursley-common-fire-elstead-smoke-18338088

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.