wingpig

By wingpig

milktime

It never seemed to take as long to defrost a two-litre bottle of milk when I was small and we'd stock up on modern plastic milk at the Big Shop in the Nearest City every month or so. I started lockdown with an emergency milk in the freezer to eke out the gaps between shop-trips but even with the unnatural warmth recently it took more than a day to reach liquidity and even then never lost some wee frozen flakes. Now that the local shop is reliably quiet in the evening I'm generally going whenever we run out of milk, having adjusted my basket usage to generally end up containing enough for the empty double-pannier and a rucksack rather than the whatever-fits-alongside-work-stuff from the habitual shop on the way home from work every couple of days from the Beforetimes. Whereas I would rarely reach over £20 unless buying several bags of coffee I now generally end up with something around the new contactless £45 limit, but with at least half the basket filled with relatively non-dense and cheap fresh vegibles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.