Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Honeybee

I was standing under the - overgrown and completely unpruned for years and years - privet "hedge" at the end of our garden when I noticed that it was blooming and that the blooms were being visited by quite a crew of honeybees. Nice! I wonder where their hive is?

The privet is the result of The Husband years ago announcing that he wanted to plant a hedge that he could clip/prune regularly. I ordered some plants, planted them and then... HA! He pruned it maybe twice and then just let it go. Not an entirely good thing to have I suppose, not least because it escapes and spreads into the woods in a somewhat invasive manner, but the bees seemed to be enjoying it, so there's that. It forms a boundary between our "lawn" and the wilds above/beyond. I may have blipped it before with deer standing in the gap in the middle of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.