Self Portrait - 12 by 12 inches - Oil Painting

Basically it's done. I've sent a photo to my teacher. There are probably a few small changes that would make it better. I'll learn those on Wednesday when we all meet to see and critique each other's work.

It was a productive morning. Shelly made us lunch. At 3:00 we are going to watch the Bellingham Symphony online concert to replace the live one that would have taken place today if there were no Covid pandemic. Glad they are doing that though I really miss live performances of music.

At 4:00 is our family zoom. I've really been enjoying those because I'm getting to see family members that live away from here much more frequently. It's great to see them all. I hope you are all doing well and are adjusting to the new way of life. For folks my age this is going to be it for quite awhile even if our government says "open up." Many of us are saying to ourselves, "no thank you" and learning to live happily as we have been doing for the last couple of months. Being healthy and safe trumps getting out for us. (I don't use that word "trump" lightly as his handling of this pandemic has been pathetic and very self-focused.)

PS. Shelly doesn't think this looks like me at all. Think I know why. This is a portrait of me when quiet, thinking, feeling sad and perplexed about life now in this country and the world. Shelly rarely sees me like that. With him I'm happy, filled with love, goofy, and filled with quiet joy that I am with him and he with me. I'm both this and that but I rarely show this part of me off to the world. Here it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.