Old friends, good friends

With me every step of the way since I taught them five years ago. I woke to find a missed call from them at 1am, they thought it was midnight. In my teaching days I likely would’ve been awake. So, we met on messenger this evening for a couple of hours, laughing how our hair has grown, hearing their tales of how Corona is in Egypt (unofficially, anecdotally much higher numbers), and in Kw8; future plans, advice how to teach - online is the way forward. A good night.
Other than that, a typical lockdown weekend day - start and finish with a beach walk. The police watch as you go to the beach, they drive by later to check the mask is on, then go. I was the only one out there for most of the time.. stopped on the way home by one of the Filipino maids I’ve seen before who’s chatty. Can I take your number she says? Then we can walk together. Nice to see that her and the other maid are happy, so often they’re not. And nice to see they’re not made to wear uniforms too.
Cloudy sky tonight, a storm is approaching down South.

811 cases

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.