ANOTHER PUB ( I have been in this one )

Weather has been terrible today - lashing down with rain and a cold wind. Had to go to the village to pick up my repeat prescription so got well wrapped up and ventured out.

Took my camera but had no idea what I was going to blip. Decided to take this shot of one of the pubs in the village.

In the 1900's a hotel with rooms to rent was built on this site and named The Crown. In 1939 it was renamed as The Rose and Crown. I remember this building from when I was a child.

It was demolished in 1965. A supermarket was built on the site with a pub above. ( The supermarket later changed into a newsagents ) The new pub was originally called The Rose and Crown but in 1999 it was refurbished and renamed Ye Olde Lang Jack - named after John English - I blipped his statue HERE When the pub changed into Lang Jacks there was no longer a newsagent and the pub was on two floors. Locals never liked the new name and continued to refer to it as The Crown - local bus timetables still referred to the nearby bus stop as The Crown.

Last year it closed down again for refurbishment and has recently opened again and its now back to being called The Crown.

I used to go to this pub regularly one lunchtime a week to meet my Dad when it was called The Rose and Crown. Only the bar was open at lunchtimes and they didn't serve food - well you could get a packet of peanuts - but most of the patrons used to bring in a Gregg's pie or pastie to have with their pint.

Just having a quiet evening in front of the TV. Looking forward to the match tomorrow - Newcastle are at home to Chelsea. Hope to see some of the new French players.... and maybe 3 points for Newcastle.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.