Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Miserable in isolation

I was taught to play chess by a friend's father when I was nine. I've always been grateful to him for that gift although, unfortunately, I still play like a nine year old. However, I love the game and have always had a fascination with chess sets.

Last year we visited the British Museum and the National Museum of Scotland. They both hold original pieces of the 12th or 13th century chessmen known as the Lewis Chessmen or Uig Chessmen. The black replica knight in my photo came to live with us from the British Museum many years ago. The ivory coloured replica knight came home with us last year from the National Museum of Scotland. They both look a bit miserable away from their mates. They bring a smile to my face though.

The extra photo is of part of the dispay at the British Museum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.