Goodbye to Aunty Shirley

My wonderful Aunty Shirley, Mum's sister died at the end of April.   She has lived for the last few years with Alzheimers, and in a Care Home.  We don't know if COVID-19 was involved.

She was my Mum's adored older sister (the clever one) who married dashing Bill Stonebridge and went to live in Australia.  I remember vividly when they returned to the UK with cousins I'd never met and how happy my Mum was to have her back.  Our families spent every Christmas Day with each other after that, until the acquisition of husbands, wives and children made the numbers just too unwieldy.  I have many fond, funny and treasured memories of her.

Only my Uncle Bill and their 4 children and spouses were allowed to be present at the crematorium and the rest of us followed proceedings on Zoom.   Due to technical difficulties it was very hard to hear the tributes and the experience, which was always going to be emotional even in normal circumstances, was really quite surreal.  I wouldn't recommend.

Goodbye Aunty Shirley we  hope that you are now drinking too much wine and hooting with laughter with Mum.  Sending all our love, RIP.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.