About to turn

By jMcLean

Here comes the sun

The sun only stretches into our living room and hits the mantel in the weeks surrounding the summer solstice. Today was especially sunny and beautiful and the air wonderfully clear - a rarity for it not to be humid this time of year. 

This morning I walked with Shelley, who's more or less my household "bubble" - she lives alone and works from home. Then again, from the news I see that I walked with over 1500 people yesterday. I don't think I brushed shoulders with a single one; we were fairly spread out and all wore masks, but that's still quite a lot of people after so many weeks of distance. I also see from the news that several of our respected local and state leaders were at the protest taking part. Some of them spoke, but they had no mics and I couldn't hear everything - the speeches were impromptu as the event turned out bigger than expected. 

Tomorrow morning W. and the kids will drive home from Tennessee. I'll have to tidy up and mow the lawn again, not to mention buy some food. I have gotten used to eating less and not cooking much. Tonight's dinner was salad plucked from the garden, though I had a big quesadilla earlier. After dinner I watched the rest of a movie I started last night - The King, with Timothee Chalamet as Henry V. I thought it was so well done and want to watch it again with W. 

Stay safe and well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.