Plus ça change...

By SooB

Springing on

Today was supposed to be the start of the weather getting cold again. In fact it was up to 20 degrees and rather lovely most of the day. I couldn't resist this morning buying a few ranunculus (spelling almost certainly wrong) to brighten up the windowsills. This was a closed bud when I bought it, but was already bursting out into flower by this afternoon. Perhaps it can sense the cold snap to come....

Lots of shopping today, and Mr B made a leap forward in the kitchen, finally getting the shabby plasterless bit under the window covered up - soon it will be a completed room. (Which after having lived here for 15 months seems like the right thing for it to be. In fact, I think it already needs repainted... I might not mention that to the poor overworked fella...)

This afternoon the birds had a treat when I finally got around to scrubbing down their feeding table. Mr B had seen an odd looking tit (as you do) and worried they might have that funny disease the great tits in Britain are getting. So, all has been disinfected. Actually, I'm not sure they really appreciated it - they were mainly just grumpy at the restaurant being closed for half an hour while I got on with cleaning.

Later, the basketball lotto which was fun in a terrifying "oh no what if I win and I've got the numbers wrong because I forgot what sixty-ten-seven means..." sort of way. Mr B opted out, and the kids became less and less helpful as the midnight hour approached. But regardless, TallGirl won a watch and a jewelry (I think) voucher and came within a gnat's testicle of winning the huge flat-screen TV. Next time, and it being lotto season, next time will be quite soon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.