Quick....Spur of the Moment Shot

Mono Monday theme is Impromptu which was perfect because every shot of a Hummingbird is taken when an opportunity presents itself. They don't hold still for long but I have perches placed strategically so that the birds land where I can get a photo; unfortunately I was too close and too low to get a great background. He was looking up because there was another hummingbird flying overhead. If you look closely you can see the dark spot on his neck; that is a few bright magenta feathers starting to arrive, eventually he will have a bright magenta head. 

Today we had to replace our microwave; I like the new one, it slipped right into the same space perfectly. It was nice that hubby went out to Home Depot and found exactly what we wanted. 

It was another beautiful day to sit and enjoy the activity at our feeders. Goldfinches, pine siskins, house finches, downy, juncos, bewick wren, song sparrows, doves, cooper hawk, blue heron, canada geese and hummingbirds....oh my!! Lovely day on the deck. I am so lucky to have such great entertainment. 

Talked to Ellie and her mommy today, two separate calls; one was happy and one was sad......I am sure you can guess which one was which. Life is so difficult for my granddaughter.....today she was taking some responsibility for the choices she has made, but that was making her so sad and said she hated herself. It is difficult to hear; but I am so grateful that she is at least calling and talking to me. I think she felt a little more accepting of her mistakes and said she was wanting me to help her find a drug treatment program for her......we will talk again tomorrow and I will see if she is in the same space and wanting to get help. I have to let go of her problems and I don't let them get me down any more; I love her and want to help when she is truly wanting it. We have gone through a few false starts before so I am not holding my breath until things change. 

I haven't turned on the TV today but I imagine the riots are continuing in the streets of Portland. I hope something good comes out of the peaceful protests; I also hope the vandalism and looting stops, businesses are suffering enough already. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.