Attracted to a bird feeder in Grey Lynn

I spent the morning in meetings of one sort or another, and most of them were non clinical. Midday I met with the other consultants in the unit to discuss clinical problems. The most pressing issue is the pressure of admissions, and the slowness of discharges. 

I do not diminish the importance of, and distress from, psychotic symptoms. However, there are patients and times when accepting the persistence of some symptoms, and trying to help the person maximise psychosocial function is better than trying too hard to achieve what may be able to be lived with. Especially when one of the risks is the person becoming separated from society, and/or suffering adverse effects from the medicines.

Home a little earlier today. Tried to get a blood test done but the queue was too long, in that the laboratory would be close before they got to me (I had to wait outside). So I put it of for another day.

Nearing the end of my jog, I heard a tui, and saw it fly into the front yard of a house in Grey Lynn. Despite my attempts to not startle it, the tui flew away from the bird feeder this house had hung under the verandah. Instead, the feeder was swarmed by a large number of Tauhou (silver eyes). The one I have blipped was off to the side for a while, giving the opportunity for a more interesting photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.