WHAT A TIME TO SPRING A LEAK!

Having had practically no rain for about a month, and with Mr. HCB complaining that two of his three water butts are empty, we saw that there was a leak outside our next-door neighbours’ house last week.  

However, Thames Water were quick to come round and appraise the job and after a lot of “listening” with a special instrument, decreed that there was indeed a leak (which of course, they had already been told) and as it was on the pavement outside our neighbours’ property and just where they drive on, it would be done quickly. 

True to their word, two men arrived this morning at about 7.30 and began working - but they didn’t start the pneumatic drill until 8.00 a.m., which was what woke me, even though our bedroom is in the back of the house.  I had decided to have a lie-in because I feel a bit “under the weather” but having been woken up, decided to get up and went to look out of the window because I could hear music playing - what is it about British workmen that they need a constant source of music, much of which they wouldn’t have heard anyway, above the noise of the pneumatic drill?

I was due to go out with a friend for a PD (physically distanced) walk this morning, but think I may have pulled a muscle in the back of my leg when we walked on Sunday, so I had told her last night that I wouldn’t see her today, so am just going to rest my leg and hopefully by tomorrow, it will be fine.

I worked with someone many years ago whose Mother always used the expression, “If the Lord don’t come, He sends” and that was certainly true today - at about 11 a.m. there was a rat-a-tat on our front door and when I went out, a delivery driver had left a fairly large rectangular box outside the door.  Inside was a beautiful bouquet of freesias, from a fellow Blipper - you know who you are - and it just lifted my spirits immediately.  Thank you SO much! Of course, I rang my Blip friend straightaway to thank her and we had a chat.  What a privilege it is to be part of such a caring community - see extra for shot of the beautiful flowers, with lots more buds to come out - in one of my Mum’s vases. 

I have been blessed by the kindness of this particular lady many times and this quote is so true of her:

“If you have kindness in your heart, 
     you offer acts of kindness 
          to touch the hearts of others 
               wherever you go - 
                    whether they are random or planned. 
Kindness becomes a way of life.” 
Roy Bennett

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.