Jen_Elliot

By Jen_Elliot

Naomi Shihab Nye

Since I shared a previous postcard from a different Aunt, I thought today, I'd share this note and 'book plate' that arrived from my mum's sister, my Aunt Kay.

Aunt Kay lives in Texas these days but we keep in touch via facebook and emails. A while back a group I follow - Edinburgh Food Social shared a poem on their page about onions which resonated with me so I shared it. My Aunt Kay noticed it and got in touch to say the poet, Naomi Shihab Nye was a friend of hers and did the food social want a signed copy of the poem. They did. It was duly sent. I felt a warm glow.

Aunt Kay then sent me Naomi's latest book and today sent me a book plate, with a message I requested written by that poet.

I've included Aunt Kay's note too, as part of my collection of notes from Aunties that I'm documenting on blipfoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.