MyLifeMirror

By MyLifeMirror

Hope

B and I continue to fight his battle with ALS each day. It’s hard. We are tired.
I look at journals but rarely post.
I feel compelled today to write my thoughts.
Just my thoughts.
Despite the media/news...I think...
There is no real controversy about senseless killing.
No one with any conscience thinks it is right.
There is no controversy about police violence.
No one thinks it is right.
There is no controversy about peaceful protest.
Our very laws protect our right to protest.
There is no controversy about racism.
It is wrong.
The controversy is about the violence and looting that is happening.
If you say violence is wrong, some people think you are somehow saying that senseless killing is right. Or somehow you are saying that looting is worse than killing or racism. How did that happen?
It’s not a contest. All are wrong.
Are we really, really listening to each other?
(And yes, when I say no one, I mean no good person. There will always be bad people.)
Do the press and politicians really care about the black race? About poor people?
Why is marching the answer? Why are we looking to the government to solve problems? What are the protesters asking for?
I have so many questions.
What I do believe is that WE need to help all poor neighborhoods and schools.
Every day.
Up close and personal.
What can we each do?
Regardless of religious affiliation, Mother Teresa worked endlessly to help others out of love.
It’s hard. It’s dirty. It matters.
WE need to do the hard work. Not the government alone.
WE can make a difference.
“We cannot all do great things. But we can do small things with great love.” ~ Mother Teresa.
Peace to all.
Never delay joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.