Half way up the Mountain

.... at 6am, the Mont Blanc Range and the Dents du Midi lit up behind me as I walked up in the shadow, onto the Roc d'Orsay. Reaching the sun, I could hear a black grouse doing his mating call so close to me but couldn't see him. I looked up and there he was, on the winter chairlift (extra 1). At the top of the mountain, a grandmother bouquetin with well worn horns (extra 2) was calmly watching a group of yearling bouquetins playing and climbing on the cliffs (extra 3). At this time of year, the old ladies that can no longer produce offspring, look after the crèche of yearlings while the mothers look after their new babies which we only see in about a month's time if we are lucky. Apparently the commune are going to open the chairlift in the summer holiday this year so people on mountain bikes can ruin the mountainside! I am extremely worried about what will happen to our wonderful rare birds and animals. I must make a presentation for the commune and try to restrict this project, I don't have the power to stop it sadly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.