Goodbye Uncle Paul

My Godfather died today, at 3:30am from lung cancer. My thoughts are with his wife, Beryl (bride), children and grand children at this horrid time.

Mum and Paul (groom) met as babies when their mothers attended antenatal clinic and have remained friends since. He's wasn't a true biological uncle but he was still like a brother to mum, and uncle to us. Our families would travel between Barrow-in-Furness and Carlisle to visit on many occasions. I was their bridesmaid (small right hand child) and dad (left) was their best man in 1967.

The emigrated to Canada and we went to visit in May 1978. I have very fond memories of that trip including Toronto, the CN tower, Niagara Falls and New York. Their daughter Claire was my bridesmaid in 1986.

It's seems an all to brief description of someones life, but we were still close at heart. Paul and Beryl always visited mum and dad on their trips back to the UK. It's going to be very hard for Beryl and her family I know Paul will be a huge miss in their lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.