Lockdown Day 69 - Peacock Butterfly

I found this beautiful creature in the doorway of my shed/summerhouse. It’s not the clearest of pictures but I took loads and this is the best one. I wasn’t sure what it was but I’ve been quickly enlightened by a friend that it’s a Peacock Butterfly. I’ve read that it’s a very common butterfly so I feel I should have known that. I guess I’m noticing nature a bit more during these slower days of lockdown!

It was another hot sunny day. After online church followed by our congregational Zoom, I enjoyed the rest of the afternoon relaxing outside with a good book, spending most of the time in the shade. I’ve hardly done any reading during lockdown which has surprised me. I don’t seem to have the attention span.

As of tomorrow we are allowed to now meet with 6 people not in our household. Outdoors only, but it can be in our gardens or in a public space, being careful to keep 2 metres apart. Along with I’m sure many in the UK, I jumped the gun and accepted a dinner invitation with a family of 5. It was delightful to spend time with people for real, not just by Zoom or FaceTime. I think it’s challenging to know how to share a meal with others safely but I think we did a pretty good job tonight. We sat at a long skinny table - they were all together around one end and I sat at the end of the second half. We would have thought that was nuts a few months ago, but it was totally doable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.