karenecrowther

By kcmakesuk

A Blast from the Past

Decided to have a bit of a sort out while the others are still in bed, and came across a box containing these, and the fond memories flooded back of the excitement of receiving them as a Christmas present.

In a rather battered metal case the smell of pencil sharpenings wafted out as I opened them, and I remember the delight of being given such a beautiful set of what at the time were the colouring pencils to have, Caran D'Ache Prismalo water soluble....

Looking the metal case over, my tendency to doodle back in those days was evident, as scratched into it (if I remember rightly with the end of a pair of compasses!) is a rather strange looking person wearing polka dot trousers and a beanie hat, my address, a union jack, a heart shape, with some words inside that I subsequently Tippexed over so you can't read them (shame!) and proudly in the corner...

"GIVEN TO KAREN NASH (ME!) BY MUM AND DAD CHRISTMAS 1975"

I wonder how many 11 year olds would be that excited about receiving a set of colouring pencils for Christmas now;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.