Draped

I started out on my usual walk along the road from the park to Hamilton Beach, a small beach beside the road. I took a couple of photos there of the nesting boxes and a boat called Embrace. (extras) I have no idea what the birds are that nest there and couldn't get a good enough photo to help identify the one that was perched on a box. The name of the boat made me a bit sad. I can't wait to embrace our girls.
I intended to walk back along the road then remembered that our neighbour had told us that he'd walked along the beach from the park to Hamilton Beach. Hmmm, I thought, if he can do it, so can I, going in the reverse direction that he took! The tide was out, so I made my way back over the slippery rocks and mucky sand, climbing over and ducking under downed trees, and  keeping my eyes on the ground so I wouldn't trip or slip. I've never done that walk before, and it was interesting to see the view across the harbour from the beach rather than from the road above it. There aren't many places to get back up to road from the beach, with the steep banks. I'm not sure I'll do the walk again, so I stopped a few times to take photos. I liked the way the bull kelp was draped over a branch in the main image. 
Some other extras:
A few years ago, the road was washed away when we had heavy rain and huge rocks were brought in to shore it up. I've seen the rocks from the ferry but never close up from the beach. Amazing. 
An abandoned boat
Deflated and duct taped 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.