Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Nature Rules

What are the chances.... I was walking around the pond (where I saw the Snapper getting one of the muskrat kittens) and I stopped to photograph a little chipmunk.  At my feet, a dark animal jumped out of the high grass, and I quickly swiveled and shot to capture the animal (first extra). I was shocked to see what looked like a baby muskrat in its mouth as it ran.  Seriously?  What are the chances??  I pursued and found that the meal had been dropped.  As I approached it to see if it was indeed a muskrat, an adult mink popped out of the reeds and quickly jumped back.

At first glance, I thought, "oh thank goodness, it is a mole", so then went downwind of where the mink was and crouched down in the grass.  It came out, looked up and down the path, somehow spotted me and jumped back again.  Darn!  I went deeper in the grass and lower to the ground....and waited. A movement on the opposite side of the path caught my eye.....a baby mink! It looked at me (main blip), looked at the meal, back at me, and then made a dart for dinner.  Gone before I had a chance to get it with the prey in its mouth.  I wonder, did the adult drop it there for the baby to get?  Interesting.

I did another lap around the pond, hoping to see more of the mink, but instead, I happened upon another muskrat kitten beside the path!  I was so excited to see it looking healthy, despite a patch of skin missing on its nose.  The wind was working in my favour and a train was passing by (can you believe that this area is right beside a very busy train track and a major highway/motorway?), so this little one had no idea that I was standing literally 2 feet away from it. So much fun watching it enjoy the greens  :)

When I got home and took another look at the 'dinner'....I realized that it was indeed another muskrat kitten.  So sad.  I am so thankful that there were actually three of them. I hope this little one makes it.  Tough world out there...

I am seeing loads of turtles now. Tis the egg laying season for them  :)

I hope you all had a wonderful Hump Day!!

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.