Speckled Wood

I had decided a few days ago that I was going to walk over to the river Great Ouse this morning, and set off just after 9.30 a.m.  It was pretty cool but I soon warmed up climbing up to the ridge, before dropping down past the windmill, crossing the road and down to the river.

I saw swallows and not only heard cuckoos (for the first time in years), but got a fleeting glimpse (and blurry photograph) of one as it headed downstream towards its mate.

I saw and photographed reed buntings and also a reed warbler, but as expected they were tucked into the reeds alongside the edge of the river, but were definitely feeding young.

The fields are full of barley on this side of the ridge and peas around the windmill.

This is a speckled wood that had stopped for a short rest before going back to flirting with its mate.

Sadly it was too chilly for the damselflies and demoiselles, but I will go back very soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.