Combi31

By Combi31

Cormorant

So, the plan was to get up early and catch some shots of the grebe on the lake .. at dawn, I think I said ...
Well, there was a storm last night and I thought to myself that this would not be a great idea, so I got down to the lake at around 10.30am.
I managed to take some photos of some great white egrets, a pair of kestrels hunting, the famous grebe and some cormorants.
The problem was that I left by big zoom in the car last night and it was so cold that it fogged up for the first photos, giving a distant, romantic haze, but not good enough to see the difference between a kestrel and a zebra.
I sat in the car as rain bucketed it down, the wind roared and it started to snow.
Luckily I had a flask of tea ...
It was fascinating watching a coot diving for weed to build her nest with, and I now know where the nest is, so hopefully some shots of baby coots later.
I was quite amazed at the success of the cormorants with their fishing.
They caught a fish on average, every three dives they made - there, cormorant statistics ... you weren't expecting that, now were you?
So, have a cormorant landing.
Two things learnt today - be patient and wait .. things happen. And don't leave a lens in the car in winter.
The 6 nations is on now ... YAY!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.