BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 75

Imprisonment - Day seventy five
Thursday 4th June 2020

Cars - 29
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 2
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 1
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 9.2c

It was so cold this morning in comparison to the last few weeks it was not pleasant even Double Dog was back in her jeans. I nearly had to abandon my route as a giant oak had lost an enormous bough and it was completely blocking one of the lanes. How or why it had fallen was not obvious although a couple of days ago another smaller tree had fallen across the same lane a little further back but it did not totally block the way. I didn't want to turn back so I decided to battle though the large aray of branches and leaves as I got to the centre of the pile another cyclist had arrived on the other side and started to climb through too. He gave no regard to the so called social distancing and I had to tell him that he was getting too close and he stood back. If everyone and it appears they are acting like him then a second wave here we come. Just as I was nearly free of the debris my trousers got caught on a peddle and I struggled to get free but in the end I broke lose and got through and continued on my way.

I took the sewing machine down to the Motor House to begin the Bentley upholstery. I started with the smallest section as a tester because if I made a mess of it only a small part would have to re-done. Fortunately it went well especially fitting the leather over the half round brass bar. I'm so glad I experimented on Sunday as it made today very easy as I'd ironed out the majority of the problems. There was only six inches that needed the brass bar so it was a good place to start. I have used Velcro to attach the upholstery to the car sticking the hook side to the edges of the body with Evostick Time Bond a great impact adhesive it's just like spreading soft butter on toast. I sewed the loop side of the Velcro to the upholstery. I've found from passed experience that sewing the loop is easier as it does not break the cotton like the hook side. I think in some instances its good when the new meets the old especially when the new gives a good appearance but remains hidden behind the scenes.

Just before lunch time Ros' 'Man with a Van' arrived and delivered our Classic Seventies Bed which I'd bought off eBay on Sunday. I did not hear or see the driver arrive but he left the bed neatly stacked by the front door. Ros was out doing her weekly shop so he must have thought there was no at home as I was in the Motor House.

After lunch I set to and cleaned the bed off with the jet washer and as the weather was not too bright I leathered it off and stacked it carefully in the hall ready to take up stairs. I'm very pleased with the bed it's in good condition but like ours needs a coat of paint which I will do when and if we get a nice hot sunny day as it dries the paint so quickly and it's then possible to spray the whole thing in a day. I then carried on with the upholstery to the passenger door. Ros' hand machine copes well with the thick leather but now and then I break a needle or two as I try and push it through to many layers. Unfortunately I broke or bent three in a short space of time but as with all things I'd got some spares.

I couldn't believe it when my phone beeped and I got a message from eBay telling me that there was another classic bed for sale. I presume the vendor saw the one I'd bought and decided to sell his. His starting price is £55.00 higher than we paid it will be interesting to see what it goes for as ours was buy it now not an auction.

Tomorrow I'm looking forward to continuing with the upholstery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.