Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Rhian and I met at Kirk Langley and walked what turned out to be eight miles. We had sun, wind, rain, hail but what a lovely walk, I'll be doing it again.

It really is very scary/shocking/worrying how the Covid-19 virus has changed our world and altered how we feel about that world. I thought I was relatively relaxed about things, I mean I'm not constantly cleaning everything and I haven't yet worn a face covering or gloves, although I do respect social distancing guidelines and I always wash my hands when I get back home but not for any longer than usual. But on monday I surprised myself by refusing to drink some of Mary's water after I'd finished off the 1.5 litres I'd taken. I just couldn't do it. 

If we ever get back to normal, and I'm not sure we ever will, we'll be a changed society in so many ways. Will we ever want to get on a plane? Hug and kiss friends? Share a tent? Lean towards someone to hear their whisper? Stay in an Alpine dormitory? Go out with a potential partner? I know that's a very random selection, but it was off the top of my head and you get the idea. 

A friend said yesterday that she felt robbed, mugged, of her summer adventures, and for those of us who are pensioners time and opportunities have been taken away... yes I know what you're going to say, that I'm still alive and should just be grateful, but this is my journal and I'm having a bit of a rant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.