Door posts

I've been looking for the opportunity to put John Gravett's triptych into practice and today's the day. I used Pic Collage on the new laptop PC I've recently purchased. Lots of interesting lines and textures on these images and lots of potential for other such blips.

Thank you for your supportive responses on yesterday's blip. We have the opportunity to come out of this pandemic in a different and better place than when we went in. It needs leadership at a national level to ensure significant changes, I doubt that we have leadership of that calibre in charge at the moment.

I was heartened to read that the leaders of large companies have written to the PM to say they would like the economic recovery to be based on green, sustainable solutions. I hope their voices are heard and heeded.

When I was a head teacher in Kent many years ago the local authority sent all head teachers on a course promoting the setting of an ambitious vision for their school. Only by seeking demanding outcomes will we make step changes in how things are done.

This sort of thinking requires strong leadership and I can't say I had the time or opportunity to put it into practice in my professional life in schools but it has been important in my life. This sort of thinking can go two ways. Be hijacked by negativity whereby people say "we can't do that" or "we tried that before and it didn't work then" and so you get dragged back nearer to where you are.

Alternatively, this sort of thinking can have a positive effect. It's often uncomfortable to be stretching yourself but this is the time when we are at our most creative and our minds find solutions to problems which we might have thought insurmountable. 

That's the sort of thinking we need now in this crisis. We've seen how creative people, organisations and businesses have been in the new world and, my it's been uncomfortable but ultimately successful for many. A great opportunity will have been lost if we allow ourselves to be dragged back to where we were before.

As Trevor Earthy reminded me, answers and comments should be on a £10 note and not a postcard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.