If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Lesser Redpoll (Acanthis cabaret)

A surprising visitor this morning!   I was on the phone and this lovely lad landed on the feeders.   I am afraid I said "I have to go I need to photograph a Redpoll" and rang off!

Redpolls have recently been moved on to the red list of conservation concern.  This is owing to both a reduction in numbers and a shrinking of the area in which they are found.  We have over recent years seen the number of visits by both Redpolls and Siskins drop dramatically.  Just to add a little more excitement to the day a pair of Siskins turned up soon after.  The first of both we have seen for a good number of months.

So the blip is a male Lesser Redpoll in full breeding plumage and looking, to my eye at least, glorious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.