Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Try online...

Into town early today to get a blip before meeting a pal for lunch. What a beautiful morning. Still, sunny, blue skies. The city is so lovely on days like this. A walk through the Gardens, avoiding the shops, is good for the soul.

I came to the wee model of the city, and thought that I'd do a depth-of-field shot, with various focussing then blending all the shots in Photoshop - I've just watched the video on how to do that. As I was eyeing up the model cityscape, I realised that other people were lining it up for a shot. The chap had a tripod and a Speedlite and looked very professional. The girls also had big cameras.

He was taking a long exposure and was going to use the flash to get the girls, but passers by would be blurry. I was intrigued and wanted to watch and asked if I could take photos too. They were happy for me to snap away. They were such beautiful and compliant models. They did several shots, none of them seemed to work out.

I was rather embarrassed, though. I thought they were tourists. They said they'd soon be finished and then the model cityscape would be mine. I said that I lived here, so no worries - I could take the photo any time. They said they lived here too! Oops.

Went to a well known high street camera shop. I wanted a new camera strap that slings over the shoulder. No, they don't have them. Try online. Have they got any Gorillapods? No, try online. Have they got a replacement stand for a Speedlite? No, try online... er... this tells us something about the future of the High Street.

I did get a new tripod. I hadn't intended to, although my old one is missing a vital screw (try online). The new one is just about the smallest available, but might be useful for travelling. Certainly it will do for my speedlite indoors. When I tell you it was £12, you'll understand that it's not the sturdiest. But it came with a carrying case and might be useful when there's no wind breeze. Hmmm. Definitely just indoors, then.

Met up with a pal for lunch. After a wee flurry moving tables to get away from the inevitable ceiling speakers blasting out screechy muzak, we had a nice lunch and catch up. Not just about teachery stuff - movies, books and apps.

I excused myself early and went home for the rugby while the others went shopping. Would you believe it - the bus broke down. Then it started again. But I made it home for most of the Ireland/Wales match.

I'm posting this before the Scotland/England match, in case I can't see to type through the tears later...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.