Sunbeams

By Saffi

Stinking Chamomile, Mayweed, Anthemis cotula

There is a great mound of these daisies at the entrance to the bean field this year.  It may have been the wet earlier on as the field has great bare patches where pools of water formed.  

I now have had to rewrite the description I originally wrote as T has just told me this is Stinking Chamomile (anthemis cotula) which can invade cereal fields, is potentially  poisonous to dogs, cats and horses, and guinea pigs.  It can blister the noses and mouths of cattle if eaten and produce skin rashes in humans. So beware!

The scent of the crushed plant always reminds me of when I was small and staying on an uncle's farm, helping to drive his cows in to the milking shed to be milked.

The extra is a better photograph 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.