Andy Tang's Photo Journal

By AndyTang

Sparky...

Well, I got home at 3am after a night out and fell asleep on the sofa, got woken up at 5:15am as the family stirred, so managed 3 hours sleep in bed, before getting up.

Rather than kill the day watching Man vs Food on the Food Channel, I decided to do the job I've been putting off... changing the spark plugs on my car. I bought the plugs a while ago, had a look under the bonnet and realised it would take longer than 10 minutes, so I left it!

A quick Google search today showed it would be relatively painless. I had to take off the engine cover, remove the dump valve, take off the top mount intercooler, remove the plug leads and we were there. Actually took longer to find the right tools, than to do the job.

As you see in the photo it needed doing, but the car has done 52k and has a full dealer service history!

This has solved the hesitation on throttle, where it felt like it was going to stall at junctions. The fuel economy has jumped from just over 20mpg to 28mpg!

While the spanners were out, my son and I changed the inner tube on his bike and fitted some mudguards. Fitted mudguards and a bell to my daughters bike, as well as pumping up my bike tyres and fitted a bell.

Typically the last bike to look at was my wife's and the valve on her inner tube is broken and I don't have a spare one, although a quick trip out this evening to Tescos meant I could complete the job today, and go for a family bike ride tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.