Life Savors

By osuzanna

Breakfast and a Diaper Change

The nest box that was used by the Tree Swallows a few years ago has now been taken over by a Prothonotary Warbler family.  The reeds and brush have grown so tall that I almost missed it.  I first spotted the mother in a tree nearby, watching me,  so I moved away from the box and she came down with her treat for the babes.  She went head first, backside out, into the nest box and proceeded to stay that way for a while. 

It appears it was feeding and diaper change time because she came out with a fecal sac in her mouth (see extra).

I went to Hughes Hollow very early because it was going to be very hot and ended up leaving early because it became unbearable and there were a few more people than I would have liked. The heavy rains last night left so much humidity, it is feeling more like a tropical jungle. 

I have been watching the TV coverage of the peaceful protests all over the country this afternoon.  Many are chanting "This is what democracy looks like."  The police and military presence has been greatly reduced.  I understand the president wanted to get away to his golf resort but was told the optics would be bad, so he has stayed.  The crowds around the White House are very large and peaceful. It is impressive to see.  I hope he can hear them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.