AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

end of an era

I regularly pass one of the old gates of the old Lanark Grammar School, and have photographed this rusty old chain and padlocks several times as a potential blip. I am drawn to it and have tried it in mono too, but I think the colours of the rust and the rubbish behind the gate add interest.

Lanark Grammar is one of the oldest schools in Scotland, having been founded in 1183, and has had various homes. A brand new school was opened just along the road from the back of our house in 2010, and the fine old Victorian building, which is listed, just lies empty, waiting for a buyer. Ten years ago it would have been snapped up and converted into flats!

I planned to go out this afternoon while it was sunny, but got waylaid photographing and putting on ebay all of Iain's snowboarding gear, which is no use to him now. It took around two hours. quiet night in tonight, have just lit the stove.

looking forward to a two hour spa treatment tomorrow, courtesy of my daughters' Xmas present. the three of us are going together. do I dare do a blip from there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.