Turtles All The Way Down

By Stacebob

Cyber Fest 2

Earlier this month I grabbed "tickets" to Cyber Fest 2, a virtual beer festival run by Beer52 scheduled for tonight and tomorrow. I say tickets, what I mean is a box of 24 beers, a program of beers for the 2 nights, and some festival glasses. Originally I'd got it as a means for Rich and I to do something different during lockdown and also to try loads of new beers, but unfortunately it didn't quite go that way! Firstly, unfortunately, a lot of the featured beers aren't Stace-friendly (I don't tend to like anything too hoppy, or malty, or plain, and lean much more towards fruit beers and sours). Secondly, we ended up not at all in the mood for the virtual pub crawl and associated videos etc. that Beer52 was running. Thirdly, since we've only been having a couple of beers a week during lockdown, our tolerance for drinking more than 2 or 3 beers in a night has been dramatically reduced! Probably a good thing for our livers, but not particularly conducive to a beer festival, haha! Still, we did try a couple of tonight's festival brews (Flying Dogma, Gentle Bastard, Milk Shake Stout and 15 Sour); my favourite (and the only one I drank all of) being Dugges Bryggeri 15 Sour, a sour beer brewed with 15 fruits to celebrate their 15th anniversary. I couldn't really taste all the fruits (in fact, it mostly tasted of strawberries to me) but it was a lovely balanced fruity sour.

(Pictured is the first one we tried; Flying Dogma by Dogma Brewing and Flying Dog Brewery, which was entirely too hoppy for me. I didn't even finish this sample!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.