Temple Newsam

Today I finished sanding the door. I now need to consider whether to oil, stain or paint. My sons and I then went for a walk up at Temple Newsam House. The house itself is closed still due to the lockdown, but the grounds can't really be closed - and there is some guidance on distancing. Given the weather - it has been raining fairly heavily, but had stopped - it was quiet. It was lovely to be out in the fresh air. We caught the perfect time - the swallows were out and diving all round us for insects. Impossible to get a decent shot as they were so fast, but it was an incredible experience. Social distancing was maintained, but some came as close as 2 metres.
The main picture is the driveway up to the house. The extra is a bench down by the lake, with the ground covered with rhododendron blooms. It struck me that the empty bench said something about what Coronavirus has done to many places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.