Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Made with love

My shy, self-contained, dignified Mum was an excellent, self-taught dressmaker. Until she lost her sight she made all of her own clothes and all of mine when I was growing up. I came across a large pile of her dressmaking magazines today. Paper patterns are intact, even those that have been used. In 1963, when I was 14, she made No 5965, the red shift with the hipster belt, Mine was in small black and white houndstooth and I wore it over a red jumper. I thought I was so chic. 

Extra: My outfit for my Kindergarten ball in 1954. I was five. Mum made it all, even the wig. The photo was later hand-coloured by Dad. The wig is long since gone but I still have the dress. It's still in excellent condition. I wonder what happened to John.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.