Garden

I called someone out on Facebook last night for posting some bollocks about “white lives matter”. And I wasn’t subtle about it. He got the message pretty quickly and removed the post, so job done.

I don’t mention this to crow about how right on I am. I mention it because it was difficult. He’s a good mate and it rattled me to tell him his behaviour was unacceptable. It gave me that kind of adrenalin rush you get from confrontation. It was not a nice feeling.

That’s how hard these things are. If calling foul on a Facebook post is tough, then I realise how hard these times are for others living it out in real life.

I didn’t feel good about it. But it needed doing.

The Bristol police made the correct decision not to intervene in the toppling of the Colston statue. Those who argue otherwise need to have a chat with themselves. Those who say to have chucked it in the river erases history don’t understand what is history.

These are turning points. And it’s about time some people recognised that and did something about it.

Don’t condemn the protests. It’s not a good look. Condemn the reasons for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.