ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Time

A great track from Pink Floyd provides not only today’s title, but a very pertinent lyric “Ticking away the moments that make up a dull day
Fritter and waste the hours in an offhand way.”
Something we’ve all been guilty of at some point over the past 12 weeks, I’m sure.
In fact, the only way I know it’s been 12 weeks is because this is the 4th time I’ve worn this watch since lockdown began (I’m fortunate enough to own three nice watches and I rotate them on a weekly basis).
This particular watch was a treat to myself when a pension policy matured last year and it caught my eye as it was a limited edition model in tribute to Steve McQueen, who had worn a Heuer Monaco in the film Le Mans back in 1971. The dial reflects the colours of his race suit in the film. I’d had a standard version of this watch many years previously and always had a slight niggle of regret that I subsequently traded it for a different make, so was delighted to come across this in a jewellers window whilst on a short holiday in Cardiff last year.
Hopefully we may all be able to do more than just sit around the house, before too long but, in a strange way, I’ve enjoyed this forced inactivity - a time to reflect, reorganise and reconnect.

P.S. is it just me or did anyone else look at the time on the watch and think “It’s Friday....it’s five to five....and it’s Crackerjack!!”
No.....Just me then!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.