Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

A Ferry Good Day

My last proper ‘day out’ before lockdown began was exactly 3 months ago, on the 8th March, when my friend Jill and I had an International Women’s Day trip to Manchester for a recording of the ‘Fortunately... with Fi and Jane’ podcast www.blipfoto.com/entry/2683430367402131867

So, it seems fitting that I finally got to see Jill again today. 

She and her delightful dog, Millie, took advantage of the fact that the Mersey ferry is now back running to a regular timetable again, and sailed across to spend the morning with me. What a treat! We walked along the prom and the beach (see Extras) from the Seacombe ferry terminal to Vale Park, where the café is open and serving hot beverages. So I had my first takeaway drink since lockdown began. But, more importantly, I had my second socially distant conversation with a friend in the space of a week. These moments of sociability and connection mean such a lot! 

Big thanks to Jill and Millie. I’m hoping to catch the ferry over into the city centre very soon for a reciprocal visit. 

Today’s tune can only be ‘Ferry ‘cross the Mersey’. Everyone knows the original version by Gerry and the Pacemakers, but here’s a version by some other great Liverpool legends, Holly Johnson (of Frankie Goes to Hollywood fame) and The Lightning Seeds - from the Hillsborough Justice concert at Anfield in 1997 www.youtube.com/watch?v=YFLM6cuoMns 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.