This morning we had an early visit from the sweep. When we got a new woodburner the sweep had to come and check everything was up to standard. He was happy with the stove but there were other changes we had to make before he would sign to say everything was OK. We made the required modifications and he was here today to check them out. Everything was fine so now the house is up to standard on the heating, ventilation and chimney front!
Otherwise we spent most of the day working in the garden with weeding and planting.
By the late afternoon I needed to do something a little more energetic so I took the bike and cycled a 10 km circle on forest tracks. I paused a couple of times to take photos and this picture is the result of one of the stops. It's a large bog the track passes. Originally I guess it was a shallow lake but it slowly filled with sediment until there was no water on the surface. The bog cotton looks lovely and seems to grow right across the marsh on the slightly drier patches but under the soil it is still too wet for trees to survive.
I never get further out than a few meters before I start to sink and water gurgles up around my feet.
All in all today was another lovely day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.