Wearing purple...

By 60plus

Always...

...at home by the sea...
A full day out today - and a sociable and productive one too! 
We went up to Tynemouth as Roy had stalked a VWGolf Estate in a local garage, and they were prepared to complete the deal in an afternoon. Called in for a socially distanced coffee with my sister and Gus on the way oop north - haven't seen them for ages. 
Once we'd completed the deal, met up with Sue & Richard for another suitably distanced coffee, than I went for a walk with Sue. When I mentioned the mono theme for the day we both thought of a poem from school we had loved - Crossing the Bar  by Alfred Lord Tennyson :

Sunset and evening star,
And one clear call for me!
And may there be no moaning of the bar,
When I put out to sea,

But such a tide as moving seems asleep,
Too full for sound and foam,
When that which drew from out the boundless deep
Turns again home.

Twilight and evening bell,
And after that the dark!
And may there be no sadness of farewell,
When I embark;

For tho' from out our bourne of Time and Place
The flood may bear me far,
I hope to see my Pilot face to face
When I have crost the bar.

The "bar" is the area of water where the river becomes the sea - 
crossing the "sandbar" between river of life, with its outgoing "flood", and the ocean that lies beyond is a metaphor for death, the "boundless deep", to which we return.
Hope you like the interpretation of today's theme ;) 

And today, a Corona Classic that Dolly saved for her birthday yesterday  DOLLY SUITE by Gabriel Fauré. 

And another cello piece from me HAUSER - Oblivion (Piazzolla)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.