Not every day

By ppatrick

Three score and ten

I had the pleasure of celebrating my coming of old age, not with a huge gathering of friends in an Oxford college garden as planned six months ago, but at home with my immediate family. My amazing daughter-in-law spent hours folding paper cranes to make this hanging decoration for me; my partner (ceridwen) collected huge quantities of seaweed to make a rejuvenating bath; my son (gwyn) made the delicious doughnuts; my other son (huw), who participated remotely from his home in hotspot Manchester, had made face masks for us all (the fabric is Nigerian). My friend Chris, who was to have shared the birthday bash in Oxford, arranged for the pear tree to be delivered. It was hard to stop smiling (although when our dog was caught chasing the neighbour's sheep, that did help somewhat).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.