Islaynder

By Islaynder

Goosander and 'er...

So this is NOT Merganser as stated yesterday.  At Otter Club tonight another tog said, "Oh - you call them Merganser?".  We agreed that the names are interchangeable (neither of us really knowing what we're talking about!) but I vowed to myself to check as this seemed unlikely. 

And so I found that this is Mrs Goosander. 

A good video from the BTO for identifying them here.

No otters at Otter Club tonight* but we did see the Merg Goosander and chicks, a mouse and three bats. 

Also, whilst chatting, it transpired that another OC lady currently works for a company I used to work for.  We had a good blether and knew some of the same people. Auslaender and ElParsones may know her ;-) 

*EDIT  I've just seen a video from the other OC tog of the otters shot at 10:30 - seconds after I left! 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.