The Upside-Down Snacking Chipmunk Acrobat

I was at the Arboretum, taking pictures in the rose and fragrance garden, when I saw something unusual. I looked up to see the sunlight shining on a white belly, located somewhere up in a tree. What kind of bird could it be?

Upon drawing closer, I discovered it was NOT a bird at all, but an acrobatic chipmunk, hanging from its back feet, eating some little green berries in the tree. It hung there with little effort, occasionally stretching over to grab another bite.

I took many pictures of this little fellow, and I must admit I was laughing, it was so funny to see. The creature moved a bit further down into the tree, closer to the ground, and I was able to get a pretty close shot (see the extras) of the happy little face of the snacking chipmunk acrobat.

A soundtrack tune for an acrobat: U2, with Acrobat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.