Neighborhood portrait: well traveled

Another installment in my series: he's a career diplomat (I can't imagine what that's like under Trump...) and the family has been posted all over the world.  They returned a year ago from a six year posting in Japan. Their youngest daughter (seated) essentially grew up there and is fluent in the language and the culture. The oldest daughter, who is a Peace Corps volunteer, was quarantining herself as she's been attending all the protests going on for the past 10 or so days.

I asked them each to have something significant from one of the countries they liked.  The young lady has a fan from Japan; the dad has a walking stick from Rwanda's gorilla sanctuary; the mom a vase of family significance from right here in the US.

Some day when we can actually socialize for real again, I need to invite them over so I can listen to their travel stories :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.