Northern Star

By Lifferz

Warning

I decided to have a fry up for lunch - black pudding, one fried egg and a couple of potato cakes (very indulgent but my breakfasts since lockdown have been pretty healthy in the whole).

I managed to get the oil smoking and the fire alarm started telling me it could detect smoke and may go off, it also warned me that it was likely to be very loud if it did. I managed to disable it temporarily by using the loft hatch pole- it’s now back functioning!

As I returned to the living room with my food I discovered all the lights in the house have turned themselves red! Even the strips of tiny LED (mood lighting). The mood is decidedly ‘submarine on alert’.

This is the hall light. When I switch the lights on and off again they stay red. I contacted MrH who has been living in Ireland since January (as an essential worker) and he said he’d programmed to do that as part of a warning system-he’d not told me about it but had been thoughtful in making them go red, as it’s the colour my eyes cope with the best (out of all the wild colours the lights can go). He can’t fix it as he’s working so I’ll have to wait and sit in my red house and turn the ones off that have a manual switch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.