Just a Regular Day

We woke up with the smell of smoke. The sky was thick. A few minutes on the IPad revealed there was a fire in a remote area of the state park outside of town. A fire. (By the way, it’s not easy for me to get information on line. The assumption is that everything is right at one’s fingertips, but I usually end up annoyed and frustrated. I mean I can smell the smoke and see it, why can’t anyone tell me where it is?) So I closed up all the windows and put on the air filter until it got terribly hot and stuffy. The wind picked up a little, which cleared some of the smoke, and hopefully didn’t fan the flames. News came down that the fire was contained at two acres, but that the smoke would be with us for a while longer. I stayed in all day, only venturing out just before dinner to sneak up on this moth. Now, in the evening, I smell smoke again, and the sky is pink and thick. 

Just to make it interesting, there was a bomb scare in front of the hotel where we used to start our morning walks. It’s a five or ten minute drive from the house. My granddaughter texted me to stay home. I’m already staying home, I wanted to shout. I have a broken ankle, there’s virus lurking everywhere, there’s smoke all over the westside, and now they think there might be a pipe bomb in the street?!  

(note that while I was debating whether or not to end on such a despairing note, the computer crashed and I lost the whole entry….)  


I think it’s time to call it a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.