Secret Roses

As I walked through my gateway my eye was caught by a flash of colour. Through a narrow gap between the gate and the gatepost I saw part of a bunch of roses that were lit up by a shaft of sunlight coming through a crack in the fence. The flowers are usually 1-3 metres up, but these were hidden close to the ground, covered by the bush.

In the extra shot I’m celebrating my first slice of proper toast in a couple of months. The bread I’ve been making with plain yeast has been solid and toast-resistant, but my son found some of the right yeast for my breadmaker by doing the rounds of supermarkets in Christchurch. Apparently small amounts have been available, but you needed to be there when it was put on the shelves. When you live in the country being there on the off chance is not an option. Anyway, my breakfast of toast, fresh homemade cheese and a banana was delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.