LTLT

By LaurieT

A right sized protest ...

For a number of reasons going to one of the large protests against police violence isn’t an option for me. So I was delighted when a friend sent me an email asking neighbors to gather along a nearby busy street from 5 to 6 pm with signs, masks, and social distancing.

Luckily my friend Barbara (BarbaraArtistPDX) had just delivered a sign, and her daughter Kara was willing to accompany me to a street corner to stand in solidarity with BLM (am I the only one who still sees this and reads Bureau of Land Management?).

Up and down Cesar Chavez Blvd. there were clusters of neighbors at the intersections with their homemade signs. I got teary as people driving by honked and waved. One car stopped at the light, rolled down their back window and a child held up their sign for us to see. The extra is a family standing across the street from us

Even though my arthritic hip ached from standing on the pavement for an hour, I went home feeling happy and satisfied about the protest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.